Jossy Diai Emerges Chairman, RATTAWU, Delta Arts Council Chapter


L-R: Comrade Norbert Chiazor, NUJ Delta State Council Chairman. Comrade David Diai, Comrade Osita Biose, immediate past Chairman, NUJ Delta, Comrade Jossy Diai, the newly elected RATTAWU, Delta Arts Council Chairman, Comrade Innocent Ofuonyeadi, RATTAWU Delta State Chairman, Comrade Vivian, RATTAWU Vice Chair, Delta State and Comrade Onoriode Umukoro, RATTAWU Delta State Sec, at the epoch making event. Congrats Jossy.

Comrade Jossy Awele Diai, has emerged as the Chairman of the Radio, Television, Theatre and Arts Workers Union, RATTAWU, Delta State Council for Arts and Culture Chapter in Asaba, Delta State.

In a keenly contested election which pitched her against the incumbent Chairman, Comrade Jossy Diai polled 43 votes to defeat sitting Chairman, Sunday Akpokiro who polled 34 votes in the contest.

She was declared winner of the election by the State Secretary of RATTAWU, Comrade Onoriode Umukoro in the poll which was supervised by the electoral committee, Mr. Samuel Enitan Bello and her victory is historic as it makes her the first ever female RATTAWU Chairman of the Union in the Delta State Council for Arts and Culture chapter, since the inception of the Union in the State.

In her acceptance speech, on behalf of the newly elected exco, the recently elected Chairman of RATTAWU, Delta State Council for Arts and Culture chapter, Mrs. Josephine Awele Diai, called on all members of the Union as well as the Management, to join hands with the new executive council, to move the union to greater heights.

She made this appeal after being sworn-in by the RATTAWU State Chairman, Comrade Innocent Ofuonyeadi, as the new Chairman of RATTAWU, Arts Council chapter, following the general elections held on Thursday, January 23, 2014.

Comrade Josephine Diai, then set down a five (5) point agenda which will hallmark her administration and urged members, as well as all other strategic Heads of Departments of the Council, to key into her vision in order to achieve the best for the Delta State Council for Arts and Culture.

Her five (5) Point Agenda, which is hinged on the setting up a Trust Fund for Members, Ensuring better and more lucrative performances and Exploring avenues to attract more Training, re-training and Workshop opportunities for members, also includeed, the Introduction of a RATTAWU Week for the Arts Council, to give them a sense of belonging and the creation of a Website and an internet forum for members in line with ensuring that they are kept up to date with information on global happenings in the world of theatre and the performing arts.

She thanked all those who made her victory possible and promised that she would be a Chairman for all the members and work hand in hand with the management in order to establish an all-inclusive, open door administration where everybody would be carried along in decision making processes.

Mrs. Diai equally thanked the Director of the Arts Council, Mr. Napoleum Akpobecha, the Assistant Director of Culture Mr. Michael Okporua, as well as the other members of the management including the Secretary of the Council Mr. Patrick Clark, Head of Personnel Mr. Chuks Oluka, the Head of Marketing Department Mr. Emmanuel Udoma and the Head of the Performing Arts Department Mrs. Esiri Patani, amongst others, for providing a conducive atmosphere and level playing field for a peaceful, credible, free and fair elections, even as she pledged that her administration would embark on programmes that would justify the confidence reposed in them by the electorate.

Other members of the newly elected RATTAWU exco, Delta State ArtsCouncil Chapter are: Pat Rapu – Vice Chairman; Sidney Osifihor – Secretary; Faith Atigro – Asst. Secretary; Pastor Afam Okotcha – Treasurer and Gloria Chukwuma – Auditor.

The election was witnessed by State officers of RATTAWU, Delta State and the team led by the state Chairman, Comrade Innocent Ofuonyeadi, also included the State Vice Chairman (Vivian), Chairman, Directorate of Culture and Tourism Chapter, Alex Akpu, The Chairman of the Delta Broadcasting Service electoral committee and senior Manager, Gabriel Muemufo, as well as the immediate past and newly elected Chairman of the Nigerian Television Authority, NTA Chapter.

The guest list also had other top state and zonal RATTAWU officials including Comrade Brandon Tonye Eselemo, National Vice Chairman, South South zone and Comrade Sammy Ifejokwu, as well as, the present Chairman of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, Delta State Council Comrade Norbert Chiazor and the immediate past Chairman, Comrade Osita Biose, amongst others.
Below are more photos of the historic election.









Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.