OBUH2Two new commissioners, former Power and Energy Commissioner, Mr. Charles Emetulu and former Permanent Secretary, Government House and Protocol, Mr. Tony Obuh, were sworn in Wednesday, February 11, 2015 in Asaba, Delta State, with the Governor, Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan assuring that his administration would not be derailed in delivering legacy projects.
Mr. Charles Emetulu and Mr. Tony Obuh, who both resigned their positions to contest for the governorship primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) took oath of office as commissioners alongside a new Permanent Secretary, Mrs Emotokare Ikogho.
According to the Governor, “we are nearing the end of our second term in office but, we still have a lot of urgent challenges arising from our committed pursuit to delivering legacy projects in the state and we need not be derailed in our resolve to delivering the dividends of democracy to Deltans.”
“It is necessary that we face these challenges with support and expertise of our best hands, not just best but devoted and loyal persons, he stated.
“I therefore expect that the two new Commissioners and the Permanent Secretary will give their best to the entire state and provide fresh ideas to support government in delivering on our legacy projects, build sustainable foundation for our economy and take Delta State to the next level,” the Governor added.
While advising the new appointees, “to serve with integrity, devotion, loyalty and accountability,” in whatever office they may find themselves, the Governor particularly, described the two new commissioners as “really very humble, the two people involved are good politicians in Delta who came out to contest for the governorship position, they have political structures which is just the beginning and the sky is their limits.”
The Governor added: “Let me remind you that your assignment will be quite challenging, especially as the time is short, and we seek to accomplish most of our projects, I therefore urge you to have the desirable attitude, ingenuity, and deep insights in handling your various assignments because, that is the only way to leave the desired legacy of service to Delta State.”
Responding on behalf of his colleague, Hon. Emetulu thanked the Governor for the appointment and promised that they will help the Governor “not only to finish strong but to land well,” while Mrs. Ikogho pledged to carry out her duties diligently, without fear or favour.
Sir Tony Obuh is now the Commissioner Special Duties, Government House, a terrain he is quite familiar with, as the immediate past retired Permanent Secretary, Government House.
Charles Emetulu is the new Commissioner for Higher Education. He takes over from Prof. Hope Eghagha, who has now been redeployed to serve as Director of Protocol and head of the Protocol Department, Government House.







Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.