usilv25Delta State governor, Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan, has bagged the Silverbird Man of the Year 2014, award, presented by the Silverbird Group in appreciation and recognition of his achievements as Governor of Delta State.

Delta State Commissioner for Information, Barr. Chike Ogeah, who made this disclosure in a statement signed by his Special Assistant, Mr. Paul Mordi, noted that this award has not only added to the burgeoning gallery of excellent awards by the Delta State Governor, but has maintained an annual routine of rewarding the brilliant achievements of Governor Uduaghan by national and internationally acclaimed institutions.

The statement reads thus: “Just as he ended 2014 on a winning note, Dr Uduaghan began the new year with another award as the Silverbird Group named him its Man of the Year for 2014.

“His sterling performance in health signposted by the free medical care for children and the elderly as well as the free maternal care for pregnant women, and the micro-credit scheme where over 111,000 Deltans have been empowered to set up their own businesses, were highlighted as part of the programmes Nigerians who traditionally vote for the winner elected Uduaghan the winner.”

Ogeah further said in the statement that the Silverbird Group, owners of Silverbird Television network and Rhythm FM, in bestowing the award on Governor Uduaghan, had taken into consideration: “The governor’s massive investment in infrastructure and his success at restoring and sustaining peace and security in the state won the admiration of Nigerians who voted for him.

“The award was decided through popular vote open to all Nigerians and is the latest in the critical appraisal of Uduaghan’s administration by the media.”

The award, according to Ogeah came on the heels of the three he won in the last weeks of 2014, which include The BusinessDay Governor of the Year award in health category in its Good Governance and State Competitiveness Award.

“The Pilot newspaper Governor of the Year award; the BEN Television award in micro-credit and job creation and Africa Independent Television, AIT, award as Governor of the Year.

“The award is a just reward for a man that has devoted his energy to creating a new national mentality on development through his Delta Beyond Oil initiative”, the statement concluded.

The event was witnessed by a sterling array of outstanding personalities including former Minister of External Affairs, Odein Ajumogobia, the newly re-elected National President of the Nigerian Guild of Editors, NGE, Femi Adesina, the Governor of Ekiti State Ayodele Fayose, Minister for Agriculture Femi Adesina, himself an award recipient also, Senator-Elect and Chairman, Silverbird Group, Ben Murray-Bruce, Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly Hon. Peter Onwusanya, Former Senator and Special Adviser to President Jonathan,  Senator Florence Ita-Giwa, Publisher, Vanguard Newspapers Sam Amuka-Pemu and Delta State Commissioner for Information Barr. Chike Ogeah, amongst others.

Full details of the award ceremony will follow shortly.

Below are more photos from the glittering ceremony.


















Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.