Chairman of the Labour Party, LP, Delta State, Chief Tony Ezeagwu has expressed optimism that the Delta State electoral tribunal may cancel Delta State Governorship election held on April 11th, 2014 due to irregularities.


Chief Ezeagwu who made the disclosure, in an exclusive chat with newsmen on the fortunes of the Labour Party at the on-going Delta State election petition tribunal sitting at Asaba, Delta State, hinged his optimism on what he says are the discrepancies between the actual votes cast as recorded by the card-readers and the results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

According to him, “All of you who are pressmen knew what happened during the elections in Delta state. So, for this Tribunal not to cancel this election would be an aberration. There are no two ways about it.

“Every Deltan who witnessed the election knows that there were no elections in Delta state and this coupled with a situation when the card-reader is reading about 700,000, the winner got 700,000 and yet INEC declared over one million votes, is a fraud.”

Ezeagwu recalled that, according to INEC, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa of the PDP scored 724, 680 votes to defeat his Labour Party (LP) Candidate Chief Great Ogboru who scored 130, 028 votes in second place and the All Progressive Congress (APC) candidate Olorogun O’tega Emerhor who came out third with 67, 825 votes.

This outrageous result, according to Ezeagwu, is the reason why the Labour Party went to the three-man Delta State Election Petitions Tribunal headed by Justice Nasiru Gunmi, challenging the declaration of Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) as winner of the April 11 governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Three petitions filed by Chief Great Ogboru of Labour Party, Olorogun O’tega Emerhor of the All Progressive Congress (APC) and Mr. Paul Isamade of Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), had originally been submitted to the Delta State Election petitions Tribunal, but presently, only the APC and Labour parties are still in the trial, as the Tribunal progresses gradually towards harmonizing all the relevant applications, by all the contending parties, to be collapsed into the main petition, when the substantive trial commences.

Details of the results as announced by the Delta State Governorship election Returning Officer, Prof. Bio Nyananyo, are as follows:

AC -3297

ACD – 441

ACPN – 0

ADC – 868

APC – 67, 825

APGA – 1256

CPP – 156

ID – 319

KOWA – 594

LP – 130, 028

MPPP – 121

NCP – 173

PDC – 194

PDM – 504

PDP – 724, 680

SDP – 6

UPN – 229

UPP – 1117

Registered Voters – 2, 044, 372

Accredited Voters – 1, 017, 796

Valid Votes Cast – 931, 808

Rejected Votes – 24, 931

Total Votes Cast – 956, 721



Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.