OKODES5Delta State Governor, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa has inaugurated a 14-man Governing Board for the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission [DESOPADEC], charging them to ensure prudent management of resources for the benefits of the people.

The inauguration ceremony which was attended by a mammoth crowd of Deltans from all walks of life took place on Friday August 28, 2015, at the Government House, Asaba.

The constituted Board has Hon. Godwin Ebosa as Chairman, Chief William Makinde as Managing Director; Chief Askia Ogieh (Executive Director), Hon. Chris Ochor Ochor (Executive Director), Mr Philip Gbasin (Executive Director), Engr. Oristetimeyin Victor-Wood (Executive Director), while the representatives of the oil producing areas are Chief Amos Itiwhe, Chief Pius Ovbije, Mr Jonathan Amitaye, Hon. Ovie Oghoore, Chief Thomas Ereyitomi, Mr Nnamdi Ezechi, Hon. Fidelis Oputa and Chief Favour Izoukumor.

Governor Okowa who charged members of the Board to imbibe the principles of fairness, equity and justice that are watchword of his administration, emphasised that members of the Board should always involve host communities in their decision-making process to foster peace and development in those communities.

“I encourage you to use the bottom-up approach; the communities should determine the projects they want in their areas so that peace will reign and development will be enhanced,” the Governor said, warning, “this administration will not hesitate to sanction any erring Board member in accordance with the provisions of the new law.”

According to him, “the new DESOPADEC structure provides for sound corporate governance in line with international best practices which is expected to put the Commission on a stronger footing to better meet the developmental needs of ethnic nationalities in the oil producing areas.”

“Under the new structure, there is a Governing Board comprising a Chairman, Managing Director, four Executive Directors, and nine representatives of Oil Producing Areas in the state with at least two from each Senatorial District,” he said, adding, “also listed in the Board are one representative each from the state Ministries of Finance and Economic Planning.”

While stating that the new DESOPADEC has no room for incompetence, selfishness and greed, the Governor emphasised that “the setting up of this Board is coming at a critical period in our nation’s history – revenue from oil has dropped drastically and the plight of our oil producing communities has come into sharp focus and as such, the situation calls for discipline, sacrifice and prudent management of our resources for maximum benefits to our people and this is the challenge that you face in your new assignment.”

He congratulated the chairman and members of the Board and appealed “to all stakeholders, especially youths, indigenes and communities to cooperate with the new Board and give it a chance to succeed because everything must be done to bring development to our people.”

Hon. Ebosa on behalf of members of the Board, thanked Governor Okowa for recognising their potentials, stating, “we see our appointment as a call to serve our dear state, and we will do our utmost best to make life better for our people by providing quality infrastructure, enhancing social services and ensuring the implementation of people-oriented value added initiatives, within the limits of available resources.” Delta State Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa has sworn-in the newly appointed board of the Delta state Oil Producing Area Development Commission (DESOPADEC)


Mr. Godwin Toritseju Ebosa – CHAIRMAN (Itsekiri, Warri North)

Chief William Makinde – MANAGING DIRECTOR (Urhobo-Oghara, Ethiope West)

Chief (Bashorun) Askia Ogieh – EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR –FINANCE (Isoko South)

Mr. Phillip Gbasin – E XECUTIVE DIRECTOR -SOCIAL SERVICES (Ijaw-Warri South West)

Hon Ocho Chris Ocho – EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR –PROJECTS (Ukwuani)

Engr. Oritsetimeyin Victor-Wood – EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR –ADMINISTRATION (Itsekiri)



Chief Amos Itiwhe –Urhobo Ethnic Nationality (Ughelli South)

Chief Pius Ovbija –Urhobo Ethnic Nationality (Ughelli North)

Jonathan Amitaye –Urhobo Ethnic Nationality (Urhobo)

Hon Ovie Oghoore –Isoko Ethnic Nationality (Isoko North)

Chief Thomas Ereyitomi –Itsekiri Ethnic Nationality (Itsekiri, Warri South West)

Nnamdi Ezechi –Ndokwa Ethnic Nationality (Ndokwa East)

Hon Fedelis Oputa –Ndokwa Ethnic Nationality (Ndokwa West)

Chief Favour Izoukumor –Ijaw Ethnic Nationality (Warri South West)


Categories: Uncategorized


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.