okenyiA 19-man Special Task Force on the regularization of Land Titles in Core Area IIA, Okpanam Axis has been inaugurated by the Delta State Government.

Commissioner for Lands, Surveys and Urban Development, Hon. Dan Okenyi, while inaugurating the Committee stated that it is the intention of the State Government to reform the land ownership system and ensure that extant rules on land ownership are adhered to, saying that,

“The task force and its job are in tandem with the desire of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa to modernize and sanitize land administration for which on Thursday March 31, 2016, he unveiled a new scheme for expedited processing and issuance of C of O to land owners in the State within 90 days from the date of application.”

Hon. Okenyi said that setting up the Task Force became imperative because some property owners in Core Area IIA, Okpanam encroached on government lands while others illegally acquired lands belonging to the State Government, even as he maintained that the entire Core Area will be redesigned and owners of property that fall within the axis would have to regularize their titles.

He admonished all the people that developed their property without the requisite permits and authorizations in the affected area to take advantage of this opportunity to perfect their documents, saying that such persons have six (6) weeks to do so, saying that those who fail to regularize their document and titles will have properties on them demolished and the land acquired by the State Government.

He urged the Task Force to work assiduously, and to see their assignment as their opportunity to contribute to building a new Delta State.

Responding on behalf of the members, the Chairman of the Committee, Surveyor Alex Eboka, thanked the Commissioner for finding him worthy to serve and promised that the Committee will ensure that the purpose for which it was set up is achieved. Mr. Chuks Iku serves as Secretary, Surv. John Jibunor, Mr. Tony Egboko, Mr. Emma Nwokolo as members. Others are Mr. Emmanuel Ogwude, Mr. Atalor kainayo, Mr. K. Azonim, mr. henry Ehiobu, Mr. Ngozi Odiaka, Mr. Peter ojei, Mr. Ogheneovo Defiagnon, Mr. paul Onelum, Mr. Isreal akiah, Comrd. Martins okonye, Mr. Armstrong |Oghene-Udi, mr. Stephen Edremoda, Mr. Uzor Nwabuokwu and Mr. Chuks Obianukor as members.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.