ogidiPDPRIV3Elder Emmanuel Ogidi, former Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Delta State,  has emerged the South-South zonal Chairman of the party in an election, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa and his Rivers State counterpart, Chief Nyesom Wike; described as peaceful and acceptable to all stakeholders.

It would be recalled that Elder Ogidi midwifed the 2007 governorship elections in Delta State as the state Chairman of the PDP and he takes over the zonal Chairmanship position from another Deltan, Dr. Cairo Ojougbou.

Governor Okowa who led the Delta State delegates to vote at the zonal congress which was held at the Obi-Wali International Conference Centre, Port-Harcourt, Rivers State, yesterday (14/05/16), said, “what you saw today was expected, peaceful and acceptable elections by all party men and women because, the South South zone is the stronghold of the PDP.”

“All the PDP Governors from the zone are here, all the delegates are here, there is no dispute, there is no rancour, we are a family and we shall continue to strengthen this party to take it to the next level,” the Governor said in an interview.

Governor Wike who spoke on behalf of the Governors at the congress, commended the delegates for their matured disposition and commitment to the growth of the party.

He expressed confidence that party was on the part of irreversible progress while Elder Ogidi on behalf of the Committee said that the party’s fortune will get a boost as a result of the peaceful congress, adding that it was important for the party to recapture Edo State in the forthcoming Governorship elections.

The Minority Leader of the Upper Legislative Chambers, Senator Godswill Akpabio, Minority Leader of House of Representatives, Hon. Leo Ogor, and the immediate past zonal Chairman of the party, Dr. Cairo Ojougbou, among others spoke at the occasion where they charged members of the party in the zone to remain intact as the zone remains a rallying point for the PDP to win in the 36 states of the country and the Federal Capital Territory in the 2019 elections.

Other Governors present at the Congress were that of Akwa Ibom – Mr Emmanuel Udom; Bayelsa – Seriake Dickson; and Cross Rivers State – Prof. Benedict Ayade

The Deputy Governors from the South South geo-political zone and all the delegates from the states including their recently elected state Party Chairmen were all present at the congress.

Another Deltan, Mrs. Tessy Ese Torru emerged as the Zonal Woman Leader, while Hon. Bayelayefa Dibekeme from Bayelsa State clinched the position of zonal secretary and Mrs. Justina Emeh from a Rivers State was elected as Treasurer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.