Governors elected on the platform of the PDP have voted for the zoning of the party chairmanship to the North. This comes strongly on the heels of the decision of the Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi-led zoning Committee to maintain the existing zoning arrangement in the party to swap executive positions between North and South.

At the meeting of the PDP governors held on Wednesday, September 29th, they voted 9-3 in favour of the North.

3 northern governors: Bala Mohammed (Bauchi), Adamu Fintiri (Adamawa) and Darius Ishaku (Taraba), voted for the chairmanship to be zoned to the south. Only one northern governor, Samuel Ortom (Benue), voted for the chairmanship to be in the north.

Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal of Sokoto state (North) and chairman of the PDP governors forum, did not vote as he presided over the meeting.

He too is believed to be eyeing the presidential ticket, having run unsuccessfully in the party primary in 2019.

The other PDP governors who voted in favour of Northern chairmanship are: Seyi Makinde (Oyo), Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta), and Douye Diri (Bayelsa).

The meeting had also resolved to pass the resolution of the governors to the zoning committee of the national convention.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.